[Language Exchange]Free English and Japanese Lessons 無料の言葉交換

Recently, I’ve been wondering how to improve my language abilities without just reading simplified textbooks(which I think should be used for reference, not as the sole source of language learning).  I’ve been using this language exchange site called Lang-8.com which I think is really great for writing stuff and getting it corrected quickly.  You help someone, someone else helps you out and get points, its a great exchange program.  My account on it is “Miburi” so if you want me to take a look or add me, feel free to friend me and I will take a look at your posts when I have the chance.

もし、誰かがウエブで無料のチューターの感じを探したいならLang-8.comの言語交換社会的ネットワークウエブサイトをおすすめます。今使うので付けた名前はMiburiって英語の書く部分を直してくれるのは出来ます。

For traditional methods, I feel like a lot of textbooks have outdated material, which you end up not understanding the context but more of just rote memorization of key terminologies.

Like for instance, every book starts off with

おはようございます お早うございます good morning

私の名前はジョンです。My name is John

こんにちは 今日は good evening

こんばは 今晩は good day

さようなら good bye

which is great and all, but I don’t think people in Japan colloquially say that all the time like in American English and every other language.

We shorten terms, especially if its with someone we know.  Basically, the level of comfort we have with each other in terms of relationship will affect the words we say and I think textbooks just avoid that, teach us all one language.

So this post, I’ll dedicate it to some more often used American words and American English slang and my attempts to translate.
これが普通の会話でよく聞こえると思います。

下は英語の普通の言葉とスラングの言葉と文書の使い方です。

English Meaning English Alternatives
Hi, how are you? こんにちは、お元気ですか? hey. hey there, how’s it going? what’s going on? what’s up? wassup? sup.
good bye. see you later. さよなら。 またね。 later, laterz, lata, see ya, peace. “I will see you guys tomorrow. Laterz!”
Bothering 邪魔、悩ま Eat “This test tomorrow is eating me away”, nag, bitch “Stop bitching at me!”
Free item 無料名物 Freebie “They got some nice freebie at the store!”
Disgusting 気持ち悪い, きもい! gross, sick, nasty “That food you had was just nasty!”
Stick with に固執する, 最後までに hang tough, hang tight “We need to hang tough on our decision.”
Feel good about 約良い感じ、良い気持ちになる have good vibes “I bought a new t-shirt, it’s pretty good vibed”
successful 成功した a hit “The food was a big hit with the town.” hit also can mean other negative words so be careful
deceive, scam 騙され hustle, hustler(someone who hustles), a swindler “This guy knows what he’s doing, he’s trying to hustle you”
crazy クレイジー,狂った nuts, mad, psycho, mental “That bitch is psycho!”, “That dude is just mad, I wouldn’t go near him!”
eat too much 食べすぎる pig out “Let’s go to the restaurant and pig out.” If he is a pig 豚, he eats too much.
Leave a Reply

