[COMIC LEARNING] LEARN JAPANESE/ENGLISH WITH SUSHI-SENSEI’S COMICS #2

What happens when you experience a flood in the apartment? Sushi-sensei, the founder of http://ny-japanese.com/ draws and shows up.

I took the liberty to write up and narrate what was written in both English/Japanese with key vocabulary and phrases.

Part 1) Narration: Oh no! One day I woke up and found myself sleeping in a flooded apartment.

Part 2) Lady: Oh my God, you are flooded, too.

Narration:  The upset neighbor who was also flooded rushed in.

Part 3) Narration: We were panicking.

Did the water rise all the way up to this 6th floor?

Part 4) Narration: Actually, the flood was caused by clogged drains at the roof top.

You never know what’s going to happen in New York.

第1)先生、雨続きのときのこと。朝起きたら、アパートの部屋の床が浸水しに!!
My Translation: Teacher, regarding the continued raining . When I woke up, the apartment room’s floor was flooded.
雨続き「あめつづき」continued rain
床「ゆか」 floor
起きたら「おきたら」after waking up
浸水「しんすい」 flood
第2)ブザーが鳴ったので出てみると隣の部屋も浸水しているらしくみんな大さわぎ。
おばあさん:あんたんとこも?ウチもそうなのよ!!
My Translation: The buzzer rang and it seems the room next door was also flooded, its causing a big commotion.
Old Lady: You too? My place is the same!
ブザーbuzzer
鳴る「なる」- to ring
隣「となり」next to
大さわぎ – big commotion
あんたん – you(r) impolite form あなた
とこ – place (short for ところ)

第3) このフロアは最上階の6Fなのにここまで雨が浸水してきたのかと大パニック。
My Translation: This is the top floor (in the building) at 6F yet how can we be flooded so I’m panicking.
最上階「さいじょうかい」 top floor
第4)結局は屋上にたまった雨水がきちんと排水されずに雨漏りしたのが原因でした。
それにしてもいつも何が起きるかわかりません、NY。。。
My Translation: Apparently, it seems the issue was that the rooftop collected rainwater and suddenly during drainage a leak formed.
Even so, I always don’t know what’s going to happen in NY.
結局「けっきょく」 – after all
屋上「おくじょう」rooftop
たまった – collected
雨水「うすい」- rainwater
きちん- suddenly
排水「はいすい」- drainage
雨漏り 「あまもり」leak
原因[げんいん] cause

Leave a Reply

