Winter Updates

Hello everyone! Hope everyone is well!! 皆さんさしぶり!ごきげんよ!I have been away for a while learning more Japanese culture, studying via culture groups, and chat clubs, apps, and meeting various people while working.  I’ve attended the Japan Society in NY, Japanese Culture Group Meetup, my University Japanese Chat club, and want to check out Tenri Culture Institute for special seminars on traditional Japanese zen sounds and Tea-making.  I’m currently practicing Iaido (form of Budo training in the Japanese Katana) which is a sort of contemporary Japanese sword martial art.

Iaido (居合道 Iaidō?), abbreviated with iai (居合?),[3] is a modern Japanese martial art/sport[4]

Iaido is associated with the smooth, controlled movements of drawing the sword from its scabbard or saya, striking or cutting an opponent, removing blood from the blade, and then replacing the sword in the scabbard.[1] While new practitioners of iaido[5] may start learning with a wooden sword (bokken) depending on the teaching style of a particular instructor, most of the practitioners use the blunt edged sword, called iaitō.[6] Few, more experienced, iaido practitioners use a sharp edged sword (shinken).[7]

Practitioners of iaido are often referred to as iaidoka.[8]

 

A few photos of what iaido looks like below.  The man is doing tamashigiri, which is using a live blade to cut the bamboo.  2nd, Obviously you need a attractive girl that’s badass. ;p

iaido_man iaido_woman

 

Also for what I’m looking to do, I want to take some time to give my reviews on apps so I will be starting a new section called the “Japanese Learning Tool Reviews” which will be giving my opinion on various websites out there that are free/paid and offer Japanese lessons that I have tested and reviewed with screenshots and my 1 to 5 star opinion with costs.

I will also include various apps like Rosetta Stone review and android/OS apps as well.  The first I will recommend will be coming shortly sometime.  おすすめのアップはこちらについて。。

 

 

Leave a Reply

